Posted by: adamthedad | February 1, 2013

A Revelation

Or maybe it’s more of a conviction. Either way it’s a bit of a realization for me. Do I spend more time documenting the lives of my children, than I do living their lives along side them?

This is kind of a big deal for me. Seeing as it’s my job to be on Facebook/Twitter/Instagram. I document the lives of products and brands for a living. As you can see though, in the picture above, I do A LOT of documenting of kids lives too. Maybe too much. Maybe you’re like me, and you think it’s fun to post creative pictures of your kids, of the location you happen to be at. But I’m starting to wonder if it’s too much. Am I missing out on my kids lives by spending too much time taking pictures of them while it’s happening? I think I might.  This is troubling to me. I don’t want to miss out on them. Last week I talked about building memories, and I find myself feeling the hypocrite. I think it’s time to change things up. I think it’s time to put my phone down while playing with the boys. I still need to do work, I still need to check pages and timelines, but I can cut out the extra photos, the extra tweets, and the attempts to create something artistic from a park landscape. Mostly though? I think it’s time to play.

Leave a Reply

Categories

