Posted by: adamthedad | June 30, 2011

Father’s Day Recap

For father’s day I received a couple of T-shirts and a polo shirt as presents from my boys (and wife.) Which is great because it really is time for me to replace the late 90’s Von Dutch and target brand shirts I’ve been wearing (what you don’t wear your shirts for more than a decade?) But the real gift I got was time to be with my boys. I mean let’s face it, if it weren’t for them, I would be celebrating Father’s day no would I?

I used to think of Father’s day as a time to celebrate my Dad (which it still is by the way.) But now that I have my boys, I actually see it very differently. I now see it as a time to celebrate my relationship with them. The bring so much joy to my life, I sometime need a day to remember that they do, in fact, complete my life. That’s why I actually find it hard to understand those that for Father’s day, want to spend a day, well, not being a Father, getting out and playing golf for two or three hours, and being away from the reason that they even have something to celebrate. I suppose it might be different for a stay at home Dad, then, I might want a break. Even then though, I’m not sure I’d feel that way.

Because of the weather that day, we didn’t get to do some of the things I was hoping, but you know what? We got to hand out as a family. I played cars, and ran around the house follow by cries of “I’m gonna get youuuuu.” We cuddled, I got lots of kisses and hugs, and had a wonderful day. Why would anyone want to miss out on that? Or hanging out with these two:

You know, I’d be interested in hearing what you think about Father’s day? Share in the comments!

Leave a Reply

Categories

