Posted by: adamthedad | October 8, 2010

Here we go

It’s time. Time to get off my butt and lose some weight. I’ve been pushing 240+ for too long now, and I need to get healthy. I need to do it for my boys and for my wife. So I’m going to take you on my journey with me. There are a couple of reasons why this has come to a head, and why this needs to happen more. One, diabetes runs in my family, and I’m not getting any younger, and being over weight and eating like well, like someone who is over weight, doesn’t help. What does? Eating healthier, and working out. Second, I want to be able to run around with my boys and not get winded, I also want to be around for a long time to see them grow into the men that they want to be. Third, I’d really like to be able to enjoy my life with my beautiful wife once my boys turn into those men and have families of their own.

Now I’m not one for crazy workouts and funky diets. I’m kind of old school like that. I’m going to eat less, and eat better. More salads, and less grease, and alas, I am going to have cut back on my arch nemesis’ cheese, and candy. Those guys are going to be a tough one for me to quit. Sheesh, you’d think I was talking about quitting smoking. I guess I really do have a food problem. I intend to hit the gym, or hit the road for a good long ride if the rain stays away. I’m going to do this, for me, for my wife, and for my boys.

Here’s what I’m going to do, I’m going to ask for your support, and for your to keep me accountable. At least once a week (hopefully more) I’m going to update this site with info about how I’m doing, and what I’m doing. Feel free to tell me I’m doing it wrong, or heap accolades on me for gutting it out through the hard parts. Here’s where I’m starting:

Weight as of 10/7/2010 : 241
Workouts: 10/7, 5:30am trip to the gym, 30 minutes cardio, 30 minutes core workout.
Cheese?: Nope, Candy: Nope? (Although I did fight of temptation)

P.S. I’m not going to show you a before picture, because hey, no one wants to see that. Maybe once there is an after I’ll share it. For now, here’s what I’m playing for:

 

Responses

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Natural Papa, Adam Rogers. Adam Rogers said: Hey folks, it's time for me to get healthy, and I could use your support, or a good kick in the pants: http://wp.me/sTt05-herewego […]

  2. Dude. Go to hot yoga with me. 1400 calories in a 90 minute class. Totally works.

    Also – I’m with you on the eat less thing. I’ve lost almost 20 pounds in less than two months with the combination of those two. The trick for me is that I track everything with this app on my phone. I know, lame. But it totally works because, if you track, you know that you’ve had too many calories and can’t really eat that much for dinner. I still eat whatever I want and I still have a latte every single day, I just budget the calories ahead of time. Failing to plan is planning to fail.

  3. Also – I still eat cheese. I just don’t put cheese ON things. Try it, it totally works, I promise you won’t miss it on sandwiches etc, if you have enough other good stuff going on. I only eat cheese by itself with crackers now, so I really enjoy it and taste the full flavor. It’s a weird trick and at first it’s hard, but I find that it works for me. I can still eat cheese, I just don’t lump it in with other things. It’s special and tasty and deserves to be eaten alone.

  4. […] Back to Work Dad: So those dad bloggers aren’t so different from mom bloggers after all — Adam (the Dad) has joined the “I blog about my weight” club and has gone public with his recent resolution to get fit. Wish him luck on his new diet and exercise regimen! […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

