Posted by: adamthedad | October 6, 2010

How a simple mistake turned into total anarchy, and hilarity

Today I made a very simple mistake, and honest one really, and oh buddy am I paying for it. But I’m a good sport, so I thought I would share the hilarity with all of you. You see, I accidentally forgot to move a bunch of email addresses from the to line, to the BCC line. Which if you’ve read the oatmeal’s post on email etiquette, you will know it’s in poor form. So really I was getting what I deserved. it started with this innocent email about a project I’m putting together for OCFamily.com:

Good Morning!
I just wanted to reach out to you this morning to let you know that I am looking forward to seeing your piece of literary genius for 30 voices of 30 dads. Now that OC Family has officially made its transition to wordpress I can start scheduling your posts. I have set a deadline of October 21st, but I would love to get a head start. In case you missed it the first time here is the outline from my first email.
Here’s what I am looking for from you;

  1. Your Post: should be around  3-500 words. The topic is open, but here are some suggestions: write why you love being a dad; a funny story about your kids; a top 10 list of your favorite dad moments; what your wife doesn’t know you did to the baby; a story about your own dad; how being a Dad changed you. Funny, serious, whatever, just keep it clean, because, you know, this is a family operation.
  2. A picture: to snazz things up a bit, again, keep it clean people, trust me, no one wants to see THAT.
  3. Please give me a little run down on your family, how many kids, how old, etc. And a little about you. You can include a link to your blog if you have one, and I’ll be happy to include it.

Then, hilarity ensued, as it was followed by this insanely long thread (edited for sensitive eyes, names removed to protect the not so innocent): Enjoy!

Adam,

You told me I was the only Dad doing this! You said I’d be featured for the entire month! Who the hell are these other Dad’s? Are you cheating on me? Do you really think they can perform like me? Have you seen them in action? I don’t know what’s going on here but you’re going to have to talk to my lawyer! This is ridiculous!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Dad blogs suck.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Didn’t we already cover the suckage of dad blogs this week? Still can’t figure out what’s going on. Oh well, sometimes better to stay out of the loop. hope everyone is having a great week. rock on!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

All I know is My Blog Sucks More Than Yours! That’s right, I said it! Now what? You think you’re worse than me? You think you can write as bad as me? Think again! I’m the King of Suck! I suck all kinds of bad! Like sucky suck.  Ummm….has sucking taken on a new meaning since I started this email? Hmmm….well I suck in the total straight kind of way.  Not in the suck kind of way that could be associated with other activities. Not that there’s anything wrong with that but…Oh boy!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

… I’m so confused right now…. I need more coffee…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Shoot – dad blogs? Damn, I thought I signed up for 30 Days of Dad Clogs: Crocs for Every Day of the Week. Supposedly, 2010 is the Year of the Dad Clog and I really wanted to be part of it. Shoot.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

My blog sucks the most.

Adam’s a real heartbreaker. He told me that we were going to get married in the Maldives, so I flew to wherever he lives and met him at the airport. He strapped packets of white powder to my body, and sent me on the plane to those beautiful islands. I thought it was weird that he wasn’t coming with me but he said he would meet me there.

The only people that met me were two people dressed as policemen, but I don’t think they were policemen because they took all the powder and ….edited for sensitive eyes… bum.

Now I’m in jail and still waiting for Adam. He keeps tweeting me, telling me that he’s on his way to release me, but it’s been a year now and I’m beginning to suspect lies.

Hope I get out soon. It’s cold in here and the guards make me do laps of the prison every morning.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Okay okay, my bad for not putting all the email addresses in the BCC line. Sheesh, can’t we all just get along. Sorry gents.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

No worries. Silver lining: I have a good friend who, as it happens, is the Crown Prince of Nigeria. He’s got a great sense of humor and a lot of cash, and he enjoys giving his money away to deserving strangers. I’ve CC’ed him on this.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

YOU TOLD ME YOU LOVED ME

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Adam has just been caught cheating on us all!  Get him!!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I’m stuck in jail in new york city. The policemen were nice enough to let me send one email to you %%name%%. I really hope you can wire me money as I’ve fallen on bad times. I invested funds in something called Daddy Blogs and then my wallet was stolen.

I need just 500 dollars for bail. If you could just mail it via paypal to my friend Adam,  that would be great.

Tank you much,

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Now now sir (reference to email in red above) you are very special. In fact I’ve heard on the street VERY VERY special. Repeat after me: I am the man…(Say it!) I am the shiz (Louder!) Give me a J give me an O…aw hell you get it. Now as for Adam being a blog ho. Well, we should really intervene as it leads to a life of pure debauchery!! As for all this sucking going on….no words…just lots of disturbing images. I think I need to give myself therapy now.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

And then it went down hill from there, to sum up the rest there were messages involving the following: t-shirt sales (both sleeveless and in extra husky,) a thong (and how it doesn’t fit a certain guy, nor is it a good idea to put a brown logo on the back,) book deals, Kim Kardashian (never thought that name would show up here,)  M&M’s, a need for therapy after reading this thread, tingling nether regions (and not in a good way,) and how leg jiggling can fix the problem. Oi, what did I start! If this is any indication of what 30 voices for 30 dad’s is going to be like, it’s going to be awesome! Keep an eye out on November 1st for the complete project at OCfamily.com.

Responses

  1. You’re welcome.

  2. LMAO…I had to laugh again.

  3. Now I wish I were a dad blogger instead of a stupid mom blogger.

  4. That’s hilarious! I cant wait to read all of the posts in november.

  5. Thanks Adam! I can’t believe “the thread” is still going on! I’m gettin’ back in…

  6. yah we’re a funny bunch of guys.

  7. Is it just me, or do long email threads involving dads somehow always involve thongs/g-strings and skidmarks?

  8. Wow! That is awesome! The Dad Blog suckage meter has just plummeted. Whatever that means!

  9. I loved every minute man, even though my BlackBerry would NOT stop going off.

  10. […] post? The one where I call myself out for making the lame mistake of not using the BCC field in an email, hilarity […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

