Posted by: adamthedad | September 7, 2010

My top 4 Disneyland stories

My top four Disneyland “Secrets”
Not many people may know this about me about I spent 5 years working at Disneyland during high school and college, even helping to train new Cast Members in valuing the magic. I enjoyed every minute of it too, you’d think I would have been burned out by it, but nope, I’m now an annual pass-holder (AP for those of you hip to the disneyspeak), and I still love going, even more so now that I have a family to take with me.

One of my favorite things about Disneyland is the secrets behind the magic, not the the nuts and bolts secrets, but the one’s that actually add to the magic. I love walking around Disneyland with people who have never been and sharing the things that make Disneyland, well Disneyland. So, come take a walk with me, and I’ll show you my top four magical secrets of Disneyland.

  1. The light above the firehouse:
    Not necessarily the best kept secret but still one of my favorites. There is a light above the firehouse on main street USA that is always on, it changes at Christmas time into a lit tree but it is always on, even after hours. It is a dedicate to Walt Disney himself and it resides on a table in the front window of his apartment, yup, his apartment which is still intact exactly the way he left it when he passed away. I have had the pleasure of being in the small and quaint apartment, and when you’re in it you really get to imagine what it was like in 1955 when Disneyland first opened.
  2. The Smell of Main Street USA: When you get about half way down Main Street USA you all of a sudden get really hungry. You see you get hit with these great smells of candy and waffle cones, or another seasonal smell. But here’s the trick take a look at the Candy Palace or the Gibson Girl Ice Cream Parlor and see if they are cooking up something tasty. Sometimes they will be and others the aren’t, but you can always take in the smells. Disneyland actually pumps these great smells in the air via vents under the shops. Disney is all about creating a total experience for everyone, and they try to tickle all of your senses, and this is just another way that they do just that. (Special note: The popcorn wagons have fans on top of them too.)
  3. The unfinished spire: I was so glad when they re-did the castle that they kept this feature, it’s actually more noticeable now then it used to be. If you take a look at the gold spires on the top of the castle you will notice one that isn’t painted and quite plain looking. (Sorry I couldn’t find a picture) You might think to yourself “hmmm they missed one, that’s weird.” But like everything at Disneyland; they never miss a thing. The spire signifies Walt’s quote that “Disneyland will never be completed. It will continue to grow as long as there is imagination left in the world.” And I love it.
  4. A ghost story: This is probably my favorite Disneyland story, mostly because I was able to witness it with my own to eyes. It starts in the Haunted Mansion (which by the way is scarier to walk through at night then to actually ride,) and it ends under the Mickey at right. You see there was a little boy around 10 years old who’s make-a-wish wish was to visit Disneyland, you see he had cancer and didn’t have more than a few months to live. His favorite ride at Disneyland turned out to be the Haunted Mansion, and he rode it several times that day. As he was leaving he told one of the Cast Members happily that he would be back one day. The young boy passed away sadly 2 weeks later. Shortly after that a custodial Cast Member was doing some cleaning and picked up the center plate, and underneath was a postcard, signed “I told you I’d be back” with the boys names on it. True story, I was actually able to see the postcard.

I’ll leave you on a note that show’s why I like Disneyland, because you don’t get to make memories like this one, just anywhere:

Responses

  1. Hi! I stumbled onto your blog because I was looking for blogs about Disneyland. (I’ve never been!) I was pleased to read about your insider stories. Particularly, the last one. Kind of creepy but very, very cool.

    Now I really want to go! Thanks for the great read. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

